Residents in areas identified as flood and landslide prone are advised to take precautionary measures as the state weather bureau estimates a low pressure area looming over northeast of Iloilo City.

As of September 25, the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Atmospheric Services Administration (PAGASA) said the weather disturbance will threaten Central Visayas with moderate to occasional heavy rains.

“People living in low-lying areas and in mountain slopes must be warned of possible flood and landslides,” said the Mines and Geosciences Bureau – 7 Director Loreto B. Alburo.

Chief geologist Al Emil G. Berador explained that precipitation that lasts longer than the usual has a high chance of the occurrence of ground displacement or landslide.

Factors that also contribute to flooding includes proximity to perennial river creek system, poor drainage facility, inherently low lying area, proximity to coastal area, heavily silted river or creek, and encroachment along natural drainage channels.

The local government units especially the barangays are advised to activate their disaster brigades and refer to the geohazard maps that were provided by MGB to forewarn the residents in areas that are most likely to be affected.

The 1:10,000 Geohazard Map identifies the areas susceptible or vulnerable to geological hazards. The maps were distributed to the local government units as a reference for their local development planning and disaster resilience programs to mitigate the impact of these events.

The public are also advised to report any ground movement to the local disaster brigades and evacuate.

MGB-7 has identified 789 barangays in Central Visayas that are highly susceptible to landslide and flooding. Alburo urged the local government unit to implement preemptive evacuation in areas that are highly critical.

At least 41 barangays in Cebu city are susceptible to flood and 22 barangays prone to landslide. In Mandaue City, 28 barangays are considered flood prone.

Among the towns identified as critical include Alicia, Anda, Batuan, Bien Unido, Bilar, Buenavista, Calape, Candijay, Carmen, Catigbian, Dagohoy, Danao, Dimiao, Duero, Garcia Hernandez, Guindulman, Inabanga, Jagna, Loon, Mabini, Pilar, Pres. Carlos P. Garcia

Sagbayan, San Isidro, San Miguel, Sierra Bullones, Talibon, Trinidad, Ubay, and Valencia in Bohol; Alcantara, Alegria, Aloguinsan, Argao, Asturias, Badian, Balamban, Barili, Bogo City,

Boljoon, Carcar, Carmen, Cebu City, Compostela, Consolacion, Daanbantayan, Dalaguete, Danao City, Dumanjug, Ginatilan, Liloan, Malabuyoc, Mandaue City, Medellin, Moalboal, Oslob, Pinamungahan, Poro, Ronda, Samboan, San Francisco, Sibonga, Sogod, Tabuelan, Toledo City, Tuburan, and Tudela in Cebu; and Amlan, Ayungon, , Bacong, Bais City, Basay, Bayawan City, Bindoy, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Guihulngan City, Jimalalud, La Libertad, Pamplona, San Jose, Santa Catalina, Siaton, Sibulan, Tanjay City, Tayasan, Valencia, and Zamboanguita in Negros Oriental.